In 55 Words FD MC Challenge 2017 – Day 69

So… bad days. We all have them. Awful, confusing moments where nothing makes sense, where the whole world falls beneath our feet no matter how hard we try to hold on to things. If I were to write down everything that happened to me yesterday, I would type for hours and I don’t want to do that. Instead, I’ll just focus on a small fragment of it. At one point, I was so out of it, I got my dates mixed up. Even though I knew exactly what day it was, my mind kept going back one month, which resulted in me typing February 9th an embarassingly awful number of times in quick sucession. That strange mismatch between my thoughts and reality all around was at the basis of what I ended up writing, today. It’s silly, it’s dumb. No animals were harmed last month… I think.


A Day to Remember (Although Forgetting Might Be Wise)

“Elliot, why are all these letters dated February 10th?” His friend, Miles, asked.
“I don’t know,” he muttered.
“That’s the third time this week. What happened that day?”
“Not sure but you were there, and so was your wife. She brought a metronome… and a donkey.”
They gulped, simultaneously. February 10th was never mentioned again.

Author: S.B.

Simple Being, middle name Creative.

Leave a Reply

