In 55 Words FD MC Challenge 2017 – Day 78

Back in the 60’s, there was this TV show entitled The Avengers. It was a very popular show featuring espionage, comedy, sci-fi and whatnot. For many, the height of its popularity was in the years where Patrick Macnee and Diana Rigg played the roles of John Steed and Emma Peel.

the avengers

I’m included in that lot. Although the show originally aired before I was born, I did watch it as I was growing up and it’s hard to deny some of its impact on my fetish views of the world, especially considering images such as this one.

emma-peel-03

Now, I’m well aware that there’s an inherent degree of objectification to it all. It’s widely known that her character was one of “Man Appeal” but, at the same time, she was smart, resourceful, and quite capable. I was drawn to her mostly on those accounts but sure, the visual stimuli certainly left a bit of an impression as well, and denying it would be hypocritical of me so I won’t do that.

Today, I was reminded of the show for some reason and decided that should be my working theme. I started with some basic wordplay that eventually evolved into the piece below. I’ll explain some of the additional thoughts that went into his creation shortly but, for now, please read the shortie:


The Controlled Avenger

“Mrs. Peel, you look ravishing tonight, but what’s with the whip?”
“Thinking of peeling off some of your skin, obviously.”
“And the riding crop?”
“It’s to turn you into my trusty steed.”
“I take it that glowing orb is some kind of mind control apparatus then.”
“Touché.”
Steed unbuttoned his collar, Emma grabbed a leash.


As you can see, puns run wild through and through because the character’s names allow for that within a funny, kinky context. The title comes from a variation of an actual episode title, namely The Winged Avenger and the last line spoofs some of the comic tag lines that appeared during the show’s fourth season. For instance, there was another episode entitled The Joker where the opening caption was “Steed trumps an ace, Emma plays a lone hand.”, so I did something similar to it because my mind works in mysterious ways, and I tend to let it do what it wants when it comes to these random things.

On a purely personal level, this is one of my favorite short pieces in a very long time. I hope you enjoyed it as well and until tomorrow.

Author: S.B.

Simple Being, middle name Creative.

Leave a Reply

